The Federal-style Kent-DeLord House, built in 1797, is one of Plattsburgh's oldest structures and was home to the DeLord family from 1810 to 1913. During the War of 1812 British officers commandeered the house just prior to the Battle of Plattsburgh. The collection spans three generations and includes original family belongings such as 18th and 19th century furnishings and portraits by renowned artists.
The grounds include Federal and Victorian-style gardens and a restored carriage barn. Guided tours available. Museum store. Special Events: Summer concerts, educational activities, house and garden tours of area homes, Christmas programs. Opposite the DeLord House is a waterfront park, picnic area and the Champlain Monument which pays tribute to Samuel de Champlain--French navigator, discover and colonizer (1567-1635).
Open: March-Dec, Tue-Sat, noon-4pm. Admission Fee.