The Deserted Village Revisited – Adirondac
Come explore the world of the Hudson Headwaters beginning almost two hundred years ago. The presentation is based on the 1978 Historic American Engineering Record, "Adirondack Iron and Steel Company: "New Furnace", 1849-1854", HAER NY-123, written by historian Bruce Seely. It will also contain updated information from more recent archeological studies conducted by New York State Museum Archeologist Dave Staley. The Hamlet of Adirondac, spelled correctly without the final "k", once had its own Post Office and bank. Besides a few rusting artifacts, the MacNaughton Cottage, the 1854 Furnace and the cemetery are all that remain of original 19th Century village
Don Seauvageau is a permanent year-round resident of Blue Mountain Lake. A former engineer for General Electric, he is enjoying an active retirement living in the Adirondacks and traveling the world. Last August, he visited his fiftieth state – Alaska. An avid paddler, he was the 39th person to earn the Adirondack Mountain Club Paddle Pursuit patch. He is also the fourth person to become a 'Vagabond' in the "Adirondack 102 Club" having visited all the towns and villages within the Blue Line. In summer when the winds are fair, you will probably find him plying the waters of Lake Champlain on his sailboat "Dream Weaver". Don's first visit to the Adirondacks in the mid 1980's as a manager for NL Industries allowed him to stay at the Foote Cottage on the Tahawus mine site. He has been fascinated with the history of the area ever since. He has written numerous articles on the history of the mine and been published in the Adirondack Almanac and ADK PEEKS magazine.
All lectures begin at 1:30pm in the Auditorium.
Free for members and $5.00 for non-members.